Skip to main content

Cleveland State University offers educational programs that prepare students to obtain licensure or certification that is required for employment in certain professions. Admission into and graduation from such educational programs does not guarantee professional licensure or certification. States determine whether to regulate a profession and determine the requirements that must be met to obtain a license or certification necessary for a profession. In addition to educational requirements, states may require additional items including but not limited to: background checks, fingerprinting, examinations, continuing education and letters of reference. State requirements for licensure or certification are subject to change based on changes in law or regulations. Students are strongly encouraged to contact the appropriate licensing or certification body in a state to seek information and guidance regarding the requirements for licensure or certification. Contact information for the relevant boards is provided for each state and program below.

The Master of Social Work prepares students for licensure as a social worker. Cleveland State University has reviewed the educational program requirements for licensure as a social worker. For each state, Cleveland State University has either: determined the Master of Social Work curriculum meets the educational requirements for licensure or certification, determined the Master of Social Work curriculum does not meet the educational requirements for licensure or certification, or has not made a determination that the Master of Social Work curriculum meets the educational requirements for licensure or certification. These determinations are provided in the table below.

State Meets/ Does Not Meet/ Undetermined Notes
Alabama Meets  
Alaska Meets  
Arizona Meets  
Arkansas Meets  
California Meets Requires 12 hour course on California Law and Ethics
Colorado Meets  
Connecticut Meets  
Delaware Meets  
Florida Meets  
Georgia Meets  
Hawaii Meets  
Idaho Meets  
Illinois Meets  
Indiana Meets  
Iowa Meets  
Kansas Meets  
Kentucky Meets  
Louisiana Meets  
Maine Does Not Meet  
Maryland Meets  
Massachusetts Meets  
Michigan Meets Requires specific training on implicit bias and human trafficing.
Minnesota Meets  
Mississippi Meets  
Missouri Meets  
Montana Meets  
Nebraska Meets  
Nevada Meets  
New Hampshire Meets  
New Jersey Meets  
New Mexico Meets  
New York Undetermined Requires specific continuing education offered by NY State approved provider on child abuse.
North Carolina Meets  
North Dakota Meets  
Ohio Meets  
Oklahoma Meets  
Oregon Meets  
Pennsylvania Meets  
Rhode Island Meets  
South Carolina Meets  
South Dakota Meets  
Tennessee Meets  
Texas Meets  
Utah Meets  
Vermont Meets  
Virginia Meets  
Washington Meets  
West Virginia Meets  
Wisconsin Meets  
Wyoming Meets  
Washington DC  Meets  


Dedicated Student Support

A CSU enrollment advisor can answer your questions and guide you through the application process. Click the button below to fill out a form and start the conversation.

  • Admission Requirements
  • Curriculum Details
  • Experiential learning
  • Enrollment Support
  • Financial Aid
  • Tuition Costs