Skip to main content

Get More Program Details

  • Admission Requirements
  • Enrollment Support
  • Engaged Learning
  • Program Features
  • Current Step 1
  • Step 2
  • Step 3

Cleveland State University (CSU) is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), the largest of all regional accreditors in the U.S. Founded in 1895, HLC is responsible for the accreditation of degree-granting colleges and universities in a 19-state region. The Commission bases its work on a mission to serve “the common good by assuring and advancing the quality of higher education.” The mission comes to life through a set of Guiding Values that support a peer review process utilizing five criteria for accreditation.

The HLC is located at 230 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, IL 60604. It can be reached by phone at (800) 621-7440 or (312) 263-0456.

CSU values accreditation because it represents a set of quality assurance indicators by which it can fulfill its mission as an institution of higher education. In practical terms, accreditation is tied to public support, federal financial aid and acceptance of transfer credits. At the same time, CSU uses HLC’s criteria for accreditation as guidelines for its commitment to continuous improvement.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission

Higher Learning Commission

Accredited by the CCNE

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education

CSWE accredited online MSW program at Cleveland State University

Council on Social Work Education

Online JD program accredited by the American Bar Association Cleveland State University

American Bar Association


Dedicated Student Support

A CSU enrollment advisor can answer your questions and guide you through the application process. Click the button below to fill out a form and start the conversation.

  • Admission Requirements
  • Curriculum Details
  • Experiential learning
  • Enrollment Support
  • Financial Aid
  • Tuition Costs